the troubles

 

We’re Irish so I guess a little arguing is to be expected? There’s a lot of opinions come along with me on this family holiday…

I need to make the most of some brief alone time, stomach troubles, to recharge for the next round.

I hopped on the bus one day. Hopped on and off the next. Finally seem to have suppressed the jetlag and did some touristy things. One hour and a half in the Titanic Museum – never crossed my mind to be interested til Belfast but that is a very impressive place. One hour and a half at Crumlin Road Gaol – it’s a gaol, not so nice, and the hangman’s noose at the end… One hour and a half on a Black Cab Tour – I expected fascinating I got distressing and very sobering. Belfast has a dark side still…

The others are out, singing to Van the man, for an hour and a half because that must be the attention span of a tourist.

I’m not sure how I feel about Belfast.

There are some wonderful old buildings and some lovely friendly people. We’ve had amazing food, done lots and lots of walking, stayed in a crazy good hotel, heard birdlife I cannot identify out the window day and night. But also sirens… and the lads every night late. Today’s cabbie told me it’ll be the young rats from the nearby estates…and the gates between the ‘traditions’ are still locked at night, and on Sundays.

Tomorrow we’ll be on our way. A few less travellers with us and the Giant’s Causeway to see before our next stop. We’ll be on the road to Derry.

 

21 thoughts on “the troubles

  1. It let me like it! I’m not surprised that Belfast is a bit rough to take. I’m sure once you are out in the countryside, the Emerald Isle will be better. I hope to go one day myself. Take care and have fun!

  2. A lot of dark history there Annie, but every country has it’s dark and light side. I hope you get to experience more light in the coming days and the balance will level out.

  3. Hour-and-a-half attention spans? Wow! lol xoM

  4. Belfast has a very dark history, but I’m sure there’ll be other places on your journey that will balance it out. Glad to hear things are going well for you xxxx

  5. Don’t worry Annie, you will reflect on all of these experiences later and make sense, I’m sure :)

  6. Hey there! I nominated you for the Liebster Award for your blog! You can collect the award here: http://howstraitthegait.com/2014/08/01/award-time/ . Follow through with answering the questions, post the award on your blog, and share your favorite bloggers. Congrats!

  7. Sounds like you’re traveling, with maybe some “challenging” family members. :) I think we all have at least one. I was exploring my own blog site…had been mostly absent for quite a while…and came across the video that I shared from you, “Rest in natural great peace” and listened to it again. Same goose bumps and a little misty eye and I wanted to check you out again. Nice to see you’re still posting. Enjoy the rest of your trip!
    Gayle ~

    • Thanks Gayle and yes, you nailed it. I realise though that as much as I (we all) have challenging family members I challenge myself constantly by bringing the darn anxiety along for the ride. Chicken, or egg…

      Oh, and spookily :) I also saw a reference to Sogyal Rinpoche’s reading of that poem today and felt instantly calmer.

      annie

  8. Hi at last! I’m a little late at following your journey to Ireland/Northern Ireland but love the way you write & your take on Belfast.

Leave a Reply

