let small matters fade away

Something my boss says to me from time to time. Has the instant effect of slowing my breathing, lowering my shoulders, easing out my smile. Longer term though his perspective on the size of ‘matters’ does not always match mine, causing confusion, and disillusion.  I hope he has dealt with what I consider an obstacle, no small matter to me and impacts whether I want to stay or not.

On a personal note daughter’s blood test results are encouraging. Spent two days struggling to breathe and not throw up waiting for that call. Our laughter was a little too loud, chit chat too animated after hearing the news.

And so I will take the holiday I blocked out in the work diary months back. I will head to the beach in about ten days. So happily be reunited with the birdlife that will gather and play on the deck when they know I’m back. The water view that stretches to New Zealand. The current plan is to alternate between writing and meditating. Spend time in noble silence. What remains to be decided is whether I will stock up on comfort food or make a huge effort both to lose weight and to enhance my Buddhist practice by living the eight precepts…no eating after noon. I will give it a try.

A few days there and everything will fade away…

9 thoughts on “let small matters fade away

  1. Glad to hear that your daughter is OK and I hope things work out at work. 🙂

  2. I really needed to read something like this. I am glad things are getting better for you Friend. Thank you for stopping by!

  3. Glad you got some relief from the news about your daughter’s blood work. Enjoy your holiday!

  4. Every sunrise and every sunset awaits your eyes. Enjoy!

  5. This too will pass.
    Prayers for your family.

Leave a Reply

