weekly writing challenge : the sound of blogging

 

written for the DPchallenge

Shouldn’t the best sound I ever heard be the first I heard of my three children – their voice in this world as they unattached from me by cord? Still connected I hope, despite distance and, in one case, silence.

Other sounds, perhaps not The best ever heard but in memory and invoking emotion – the saxophone and clarinet of eldest and middle child learning; their laughter when together; the sound of son’s voice as it changed; the family shouts from the couch watching football. Or the sea – calming and mesmerising whether up close and personal, or distant. And then as a meditator silence is a great sound.  Have you heard Tibetan monks chanting? One single voice or a temple full. That sound sends shivers down your spine and serenity to your face – peaceful smile.

 

not monks chanting but a particularly moving performance of Himalaya – by Tenzin Choegyal at the 2010 Festival of Tibet, Brisbane Powerhouse, Australia.

 

But let me tell you about another sound. The voice of a great master. The energy in his presence ringing in my ears. No sound at all the loudest sound!

I could never have imagined how my life would change in the last few years. Could not have dreamt this job or written a position description for myself more amazing. With a couple of part time forays I’ve practically been a stay at home mother since eldest was born, conceived even. And then, on my own with them, it seemed all the more important. They were left with one parent and they should have all of that parent possible.

Later, I studied, but I could do that work from home. The beauty of it fitting it in between drop offs and pick ups – teenage years not disrupted by any change in mother’s routine. Of course I’d do things differently, wouldn’t we all? But I did the best I could, I did it out of love, I did what I thought was the right thing.

Several major changes taking place at once and I was searching. Children leaving university, leaving home, leaving school – I needed a whole new identity! Midlife.  I did a philosophy course, I joined a writing group, walked more, met with friends – I hadn’t thought of getting a job – I wasn’t employable after all those years anyway right?!

One night, prowling the net, reading all things Buddhist, I came across this not for profit position. I believe there are no coincidences so it’s all panned out the way it was meant to but I stared at it wondering…could I show that I could do this job without years of employment and references to back it up? The blessings have flowed since seeing that ad – to cut a long story short I got the job, have learnt so much, so much has changed, so many wonderful things have happened and one day I met His Holiness the Dalai Lama. To a Buddhist, to a Tibetan Buddhist, that’s an incredibly special moment.

The little ‘oh’ he made as he turned the corner and saw me waiting.  His giggle. The rustle of robes as he approached and reached out for my hand, our fingers twisted, energy connecting. And his voice, you may have heard it before many times but with his face inches from yours, foreheads close to touching, his voice in your ear – the living Buddha of Compassion, Chenrezig..that has to be the best sound.

HHDL Melbourne 2011

 

 

21 thoughts on “weekly writing challenge : the sound of blogging

  1. An ending is really a beginning
    “Beginnings are usually scary and endings are usually sad, but it’s the middle that counts. You have to remember this when you find yourself at the beginning.” Sandra Bullock

  2. When one door of happiness closes, another opens, but often we took so long at the closed door that we do not see the one that has been opened up for us…Glad you have found your open door! Julia

  3. Just seeing the Dalai Lama’s face, and his beautiful smile, makes me happy. What an incredible experience to meet him in person!

  4. Being in the presence of a Master…a profound experience. Glad you shared it! 😉

  5. […] weekly writing challenge : the sound of blogging | bodhisattvaintraining […]

  6. What a magnificent experience meeting the Dalai Lama.

    This is a wonderful post – thank you so much for sharing 🙂

  7. Very, very cool…no, there are no mistakes…that job showed up just for you…and meeting HH The Dalai Lama…well, now you probably think all things are indeed possible. Inches from your face, speaking in your ear…I can’t imagine what that felt like. What a great story…it’s a blessing just to read this. Yes, I’ve heard his voice and his laugh…and that giggle…priceless.

    Did I ever think I would be in the same room with him in my lifetime…no..but it happened that I won a lottery for two free tickets to be at a private conference with him (not a personal meeting, like yours) in Washington, D.C. through my affiliation with the International Campaign for Tibet. (I think I mentioned this to you through a previous comment.)

    Thanks for sharing such an auspicious experience…

  8. Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience! Great story!

  9. This is a beautiful experience shared… TY! 🙂

  10. Still connected regardless of silence, always connected. Thinking of you.

  11. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

Leave a Reply

