daily prompt : race the clock – an offer I couldn’t refuse

 

 

An offer I couldn’t refuse

I booked my ticket for the Melbourne teachings as soon as they were released. Booked flights, a hotel. I was ready. Over excited.

Then at work, my boss said ‘I’m going to organise for you to meet him’.

I totally freaked. ME? I am not worthy, I have nothing intelligent to say, how can I stand in his presence, what will I wear etcetcetc.

As a Buddhist, and one who follows the Tibetan Gelugpa school, to meet His Holiness the Dalai Lama is the most incredible thing that could happen in this lifetime. Just to be in the same room with him while he does the teachings is enough to reduce you to tears. His energy is so strong.

So, what sounds like an offer that I could not possibly refuse initially I did. My boss listened to my protests but paid no attention. Quietly went about organising it.

I flew to Melbourne. My second boss was one of the inner circle. I saw him every day running around in his suit looking official but he didn’t come near me, made no contact. I resigned myself to the fact that I was not going to meet His Holiness and my inner talk was that this was fine, I was not worthy etcetc. His Holiness is very busy – I wouldn’t want to waste his time, I have nothing to say etcetc.

On the second last night, in my hotel room, my second boss called. Can you be at his hotel lobby at 7am, are you prepared to stand for an hour knowing he may rush past with barely an acknowledgement?

I was going to meet him. I would stand for a week for that.

We took the lift to the penthouse and waited in the corridor outside his room for an hour and a half. A rustle of robes and he was in front of me. The urge to prostrate is instinctive. His face, his eyes literally just inches from mine as he held my hand, our fingers entwined. The human form of Chenrezig, Buddha of Compassion saw into me, passed his energy.

Karma! It was an offer I couldn’t refuse 🙂

 

22 thoughts on “daily prompt : race the clock – an offer I couldn’t refuse

  1. so happy for you that you had this adventure… and this inspiration.

  2. Awesome! I was in India six months and have often wished I had taken the time to go to Dharmasala.

  3. WowWee! So awesome! Actually that is BEYOND awesome 🙂 So happy for you!

  4. free penny press

    Oh my goodness, how wonderful is this 🙂

  5. That is really cool. I’m not a Buddhist but I’m sure it was an incredible, indelible moment for you.

  6. This is remarkable! How absolutley and utterly wonderful for you! 😀

  7. Amazing! Happy for you, I wish I could meet him too.:)

  8. What an exciting story! Very happy that you got to meet the Dalai Lama; a blessing!

    Mark L.

  9. This brought tears to my eyes. I had the good fortune to be one of eleven thousand people attending his teaching here in my home town a couple of years ago. I was floored by his energy. I didn’t expect it given the size of the venue. And I have never before, or since, been in one place with so many utterly silent people. I will never forget it.
    I cannot imagine your joy!! But I will try 🙂 Thank you for sharing this

Leave a Reply

