daily prompt : reincarnation

 

Reincarnation: do you believe in it?

 

To some Buddhism is a lifestyle, philosophy. It’s also a religion. And yes it’s a way of life.

It’s my religion and YES I believe in reincarnation.

My littlest one, the one facing the great fight, is what you might call a wise old soul. I’d say she’s been around a few more times than the rest of us. She’s clearly a reincarnation – of who specifically I don’t know but while very young she knew things she couldn’t possibly. She was my counsellor when she was way too young. That’s all the proof I need right there. She’s blown me away time and again with the things that come out of her mouth.

As a student of Tibetan Buddhism rebirth and reincarnation are fundamental to the teachings. I’ve had teachers that are recognised reincarnations. Have you seen the film Kundun? Showing the life story of His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama, and in simple terms the process of his recognition. I’ve also heard him speak of recognising the reincarnation of other great teachers himself.

In my daughter’s case it could mean that she has already finished the samsaric wheel, that she chose to return in human form to help other sentient beings along the path. It has been suggested that she has the illness she does in order for me to learn. Who knows..definitely we have a close karmic connection so the answers may become apparent in future lives 😉

I’ve been hanging on to this prompt for days, knowing I had to answer it but waiting til I had the time to devote to it. However I can’t do the topic justice no matter how long I put it off. Maybe I can’t explain reincarnation in a way that makes you believe but the Buddha himself said don’t believe something just because I said so..investigate it yourself. So you have to make up your own mind, but I know what I believe, and I believe in karma (causes and conditions), rebirth and reincarnation, and that there is an end to samsara.

 

May supreme, precious bodhicitta

Take birth where it has not arisen.

Where it has arisen, may it never wane,

But continue to grow forever more.

 

16 thoughts on “daily prompt : reincarnation

  1. I think this is beautiful.

  2. What a wonderful gift your daughter is. I’m glad you recognize her godliness, Annie. Our children are here to teach us as much as we are here to teach them. Love this post. //bow// to your daughter ||bow||

  3. I love this post. Both my children are old souls. We were all in this together before. Through amazing grace, we found one another again. Gratitude here. Love and peace.

  4. Your daughter is definitely an inspiration and I’m sure our children are here to teach us. Beautiful post, Annie 😉

  5. I’ve come around to thinking, Annie, that there is no reincarnation. What I see is that we are, each and every one of us, an eternal and perfect expression of Divine Self and the human experience we are currently having is but one of the many we have as part of Eternal Life, which I perceive as Reality. I think of my life now like a line segment in the line that stretches to infinity. It’s only the human expression that makes me feel separate. Your little one is here, indeed, to help you remember on some level, just as you are here to help her. Not because either is older or wiser, since as the perfect expression of that which is already Perfect magnitude becomes a human construct, but just because that is the experience this segment…xoxoM

    • So, more in line with rebirth than reincarnation.

      Beginningless time, continuation, connection..

      • Yes. more like that. I suppose I take exception to the “re” in the description, since I think that implies a “do-over” on some level (my own interpretation). I think of it as Life Eternal with endless chapters, and we’re living one now…xoxoM

        • It fits with my teachings really – I suppose the ‘re’ comes in that our consciousness remains but in another form. That’s my take anyway – happy to disagree on the wording but I think we have the same or similar idea 🙂 xx

          • Words are so inadequate, Annie, to describe an eternal concept. I’m so glad we’re expanding the vocabulary – and the understanding! 😉 xoxoM

  6. Great post Anne. I’ve always believed in reincarnation but I only began exploring my past lives in the past few years and I’m astonished at what I’ve discovered – going back 2,000 years to Pompeii…

Leave a Reply

