one of my characters

Weekly Writing Challenge: Characters

She doesn’t just wake, she is who the phrase ‘hit the ground running’ was created for.

It’s as though she has a different setting than mere mortals. She eats at speed – her digestion is fine? Moves at speed – anyone who can’t keep up? lazy.  She talks at speed – a conversation means hearing her own voice, no interruptions, definitely no other opinions, not even a shade of difference.

It probably goes without saying that she’s reed thin and correctly dressed at all times. Her long straight blonde hair whipped into submission by frequent, fast hairdresser visits. Hasn’t changed her hairstyle in decades and does not see that it is dated, and that her age cannot be hidden anymore, to anyone but herself. Mutton dressed as lamb.

She can make you feel small with a turn of her neck. Nothing is ever good enough around here for her.

I remember the day she told me it would be my husband’s ‘fault’ (for leaving) if my son were gay. Say what? When I replied I’d have no problem with it and that people are born gay or straight she slammed the door on her way out with a ‘I’d shoot myself right now if I thought that’ left in the air..

Guess I should have bought a gun!

Yep…look out the window, if she says the blue sky is white and you disagree you’re an idiot for thinking otherwise. She spits ‘this family is NOT dysfunctional’.

No, maybe not the Whole family… A shrink’s field day though.

 

18 thoughts on “one of my characters

  1. Very interesting character!

  2. She’s real enough to picture. “Mutton dressed as lamb.” Oh yeah.

  3. I think you’ve done brilliantly. I can picture the character in my head, no problem. Although, perhsps I’d rather not. She’ll give me nightmares! 😉

  4. LOL I thought this was going to be a post about someone who is driven at first not someone who drives others to madness! When I read the ‘hit the ground running’ bit, I remembered a quote I read once that said something like…”when she wakes up the devil says, ‘oh crap, she’s up!'”

  5. Ummm – do you know my sister? 😉

  6. Love how all the different aspect fit together–fast pace, fast talker, bad listener, homophobic, thin as a rail, nothing good enough, fear of aging. Brilliant, Annie. Glad I didn’t marry her. 🙂

  7. This is definitely an interesting character. I think everyone knows someone like her. 🙂

  8. i can see her, good sketch

Leave a Reply

