on reflexology and love – words from a gorgeous daughter

A while back I posted a letter that my daughter had written in response to a journalist. She didn’t receive a reply but they say writing is good therapy πŸ™‚

Today she posted the following on her blog (on a different platform, and which will remain anonymous – it’s for her and others with IBD to support each other).

reflexo map

Reflexology

I’m not saying that this will β€œheal” anybody or make their symptoms better or go away but reflexology is really relaxing and it is quite amazing how it works. My mum is a reflexologist and sometimes practices on me or does my feet if I ask her to. Whenever she does, she has to be really soft on the bottom of my feet because they are so sore (which relates to my UC). She was giving me reflexology a few days before my first colonoscopy (when I got diagnosed) to relax me and the pain was excruciating when she went near that area! Anyway, if you ever get the chance to have reflexology, do it simply for the relaxation!

(for appointments move to oz πŸ˜‰ just sayin…)

35 thoughts on “on reflexology and love – words from a gorgeous daughter

  1. Foot reflexology is the only form of touch/massage-like therapy that I enjoy! LOVE it! If I were in Oz, I’d be on your doorstep regularly, Annie! xoxoM

  2. unfetteredbs

    I love a good foot massage(only from the hubs)

  3. Hope your daughter is doing well with this ongoing struggle. I’m sure your support means a great deal to her.

  4. I’ve never had one!

  5. It is relaxing. Off to see the wizard. πŸ˜‰

  6. I love a good foot massage. Now I’m going to show this picture to hubby and get him working on my feet! YAY! πŸ˜€

  7. Fascinating! Is there a spot for the thyroid?

    • See on the picture where it says solar plexus – start at the side there and curve up around the pad under the big toe to the gap between big toe and second toe, press on the base of big toe, at the side, between the two toes.

      • It’s cold today, so I’m trying it with socks on. :). Is reflexology believed to identify disturbances, or assist rebalancing? ( forgive me if the terminology is not correct)

        • I wouldn’t presume to diagnose anyone but at times we can feel things in the feet that relate to what the client then tells us..and yes can help with rebalancing – at the very least an hour of relaxation πŸ™‚

  8. Although your daughter’s post is all about reflexology, all I read was “I love you, Mum.” {{{Hugs}}} Kozo

  9. The first time I had reflexology, it too was very painful but a problem was identified which I have written about in the past. It is amazing how the body is mapped out on the feet.

    Your darling girl!!!

    • Yes she’s a gorgeous thing πŸ™‚

      So happy to hear of your success with reflexology – I’m not working much these days due to the office day job but it’s a wonderful feeling when it all works.

  10. I need to pass this on to a friend. I’ve been trying to tell her about reflexology.Thank you for posting.

  11. Sorry no one responded to her.
    oh gosh I’d love to get a reflexology treatment from you Anne πŸ™‚

  12. I believe it! It is true and very effective πŸ˜€

  13. LOVE this post especially, “for appointments move to oz just sayin…” That one little bit makes me want to hug her.

  14. Very informative πŸ™‚

  15. Ooh, I read this when you first posted it. Very interesting!

Leave a Reply

