in my thoughts

 

Twenty nine years since my father died. His secretary messaged me today with love. That’s the measure of the man that his employee remembers the day, remembers how many years..

I spent some time in his old rocking chair this afternoon. Soaked up a little sun coming through the back doors, the big cat doing her purring on the post next to me.

My father was god in my little world. I don’t think anything else needs to be said. 🙂  I wish my children had spent time wrapped up in his hugs and felt the strength and wisdom, safety and love of his inner circle.

 

 

24 thoughts on “in my thoughts

  1. How wonderful that you had a father like that. May you always be happy in his memory.

  2. This is a lovely tribute to your father. I echo Shimon’s thoughts. How lucky to have these memories.

  3. Our fathers have a huge impact on all of us. So thankful you have great memories.

  4. Such sweet memories… and such a nice tribute to your father. My father died in 1973, and I still feel that loss every June 9th. We are lucky to have been loved like that, and unfortunate to have lost our fathers, too soon. Hugs.

  5. What a wonderful man he must have been, Annie. This is a beautiful tribute.

  6. As Shimon said, it’s nice to have good memories of your father. It’s a strange thing, how memories of someone you miss terribly can make you smile.

  7. he must have been a wonderful man, i am sure you passed on some of those hugs, that wisdom and love that you learned from him, nothing ever disappears completely … my father died 37 years ago, i still remember him with great love and appreciation 🙂

  8. Thank you for sharing this lovely tribute, Annie. May this day be soaked in happy memories of him.
    Cathy

  9. perhaps he touches your children every day, through you.

  10. He is still here, Annie. In your hugs, your poetry, your love, and YOUR wisdom. {{{Hugs}}} kozo

  11. Really lovely, Annie. We have more similarities. My father died twenty-eight years ago. It’s hard for me to wrap my mind around the fact that he was just in his early fifties. He never knew our son, and that makes me sad, yet when I think of him, I always smile. He was a lot of fun. Thanks for memories tonight.

  12. Beautiful words, I resonated when you sat in his chair, we have a chair at mums called pops chair and when you sit in the sun you can feel his presence their. Thanks for sharing your special memories.

Leave a Reply

