Waiting for the Dalai Lama, Buddha of compassion…

 

Sunday morning and the rain is Pounding down. I LOVE it. I haven’t even gotten out of bed yet. So rare in my recent world to be totally alone and with no mother duties to take care of.

My stomach is beginning to nudge me to go downstairs but I’ll resist a while longer.

The blind on one window is permanently about a third of the way up. After a crazy day of work I didn’t sleep well, woke a few times – 4am all was dark. 6.30 I thought we were having another misty start. (Sydney woke to a fog hug a few days last week) Then, normal waking time to rain and grey – the leaves I can see from bed getting a drenching and bearing up bravely against an unkind wind.

The big cat is on the end of the bed on my new ‘Dharma’ blanket. Yes, I bought it because of the name! It’s not particularly attractive nor soft and inviting but she’s claimed it. I just pull the doona higher, lie back and smile at the sounds, the cool. Rain washes away any other city noise. Everyone stays home, or like me isn’t even up this Sunday?

Bliss at the end of a hectic week and before the start of two more.

This time, in two weeks, we’ll be starting the last of His Holiness’s three days of teachings in Sydney.

Months of preparation, anticipation, waiting…not long now my lovelies and he’ll be here 🙂

May all sentient beings be well, free from suffering and know happiness. Om mani padme hum.

 

HHDL

 

Melbourne 2011

 

 

35 thoughts on “Waiting for the Dalai Lama, Buddha of compassion…

  1. victoriaaphotographyictoria

    Lying in bed on a Sunday listening to the rain is a wondrous thing – sometimes the sound is like music.

    Hope you enjoy and benefit from the Dalai Lama’s tour and teachings. Such a privilege to be in his Presence.

  2. good read; it is a great honor to see the Dalai Lama

  3. Three cheers for rain, cats, and the Dalai Lama. So I guess that would be nine cheers? No problem.

  4. Covered in the dharma blanket waiting for his Holiness’s return. What a wonderful Sunday, Annie. {{{hugs}}} Kozo

  5. He is a marvel…he was in Trento (Italy) not so long ago and I feel we were so blessed…a true Bodhisattva of compassion.

  6. How nice you had a lazy Sunday, Annie. I know you are back to the grind today, but it won’t be too much longer before your big days arrive.

  7. Love quiet Sunday mornings, though I like to get up and laze about someplace other than bed.

    Now you’re into the week and cranking on. Remember that respite and smile. 🙂

  8. I’ll trade you straight across, one day of mine for one of yours. I get your Saturday morning. 😉

    • Ha ha ha noooo Alice I am not liking the sound of your neighbours! Maybe when you get to France we can swap?

      ALTHOUGH….you said my Saturday morning (and I know you meant Sunday) – Saturday was mighty hectic round here with work and all..

      • Yes. Neighbors.

        I found out last night that the apartment complex behind ours are low-income “housing projects”. “The Projects” are some of the most dangerous places to live in or near in this country.

        Yikes.

        I’ve been unable to locate alternate housing. Places like this have an enormous gravitational pull that keeps people trapped in place.

        No wonder the librarian looked at my address, asked if it was correct and did a double-take on me and my kids. He must have assumed we’re dangerous criminals. What a place!

  9. Sending you my love and peaceful blessings…May you feel the compassion and the heart of the Buddha in you at this time. Sharon

Leave a Reply

