the only constant is change

 

Tell me, how do you deal with change? I wish I could claim resilience among traits of character.

In deepening my practice I will work on equanimity. My boss, the bodhisattva, is sooo calm. In every situation. Calm, happy and with that gentle smile. I envy his wife. Her life – the partnership, support. (Maybe I should write his love story one day, as told to me, and witnessed – beautiful to see the strength at our age and after so many years)

…….

Back to change. After the bounce, when the ball is on the fall down I drop with it, at least briefly.

Youngest, who has been so very sick for a time, is now much better. Is out and about with friends. Staying at the boyfriend’s house. And that’s wonderful!

I’m alone a lot. I’ve been there before, and loved it. I just have to get used to it again. I’m not sure if this is my normal reaction to change, or if the many recent sads of extended family, and my work tiredness have caused the rug to bunch up under my winter feet.

In two weeks I will close the office door for 10 days. Holiday in my sight at last. Does it seem strange after what is written above to say I hope for some alone time? At the beach house escape…with a bag of books, an open fire, and that ocean view. I will sleep, eat, and have time to think. Not sure where thinking will get me but by the end of it I should be used to life now.

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “the only constant is change

  1. Wishing you a very beautiful vacation, with great pleasure in reading. And beautiful sights and sounds…

  2. Shut down and power off. Sounds like a plan to me.

    I love change 🙂 The more change one creates in their lives, the more resilient one becomes. Like a chameleon really!

    X

  3. Resiliency doesn’t mean you never fall down – it just means you get back up at some point. After long periods of stress and change, nothing is better than an “unraveling” holiday. Be open to what arises and breathe. Enjoy your time off!

  4. Vicki (from Victoria A Photography)

    Taking time in solitary reflection is one of the luxuries in our modern society. I am one of the lucky people who gets plenty of it – perhaps too much at times.

    Hope you have a nice relaxing break down at the beach. I can think of nothing better than being well rugged up and a bracing winter beach walk to blow the cobwebs away.

  5. Having some time in my own space is necessary for me. Not for everyone, but it is for me.

Leave a Reply

