this cryptic life

 

I went to boarding school when I was eleven. Three hours from home.

Oh I’ve been further than that. I’ve been to the South Pacific, three parts of Asia in my twenties. Years later, when I never thought I’d get on one of those sky birds again, I went to Noo York and Rome. Wonderous things I saw. Fabulous fun filled days I spent.

But back when I was eleven, when my father drove down the drive and kept on down the highway to the gates of that hell…that was the furthest I ever went from home. Because – I never went back. I haven’t found it since.

I’m not sure where it is now…but after this next thing is done I can go home. And when I get there I won’t leave again.

 

 

written in response to a Daily Post Prompt in my inbox ‘Tell us about the farthest you’ve ever traveled from home’ – when I click on the link to the actual page, spookily, like my home it no longer exists…

 

here’s that elusive LINK

33 thoughts on “this cryptic life

  1. That sounds sad 😦

  2. Healing starts when hurt is exposed.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  3. How traumatic for an 11 year old!

  4. I was 13 when I went to boarding school – yuck 😦

  5. That place you can’t go home from. Not that home isn’t there anymore, but you’re no longer you.

  6. […] this cryptic life | bodhisattvaintraining […]

  7. Beautifully written, and I can hear your words reverberating in my chest.

  8. […] this cryptic life | bodhisattvaintraining […]

  9. […] this cryptic life | bodhisattvaintraining […]

  10. Touching. Thought provoking. Well done.

  11. Very deep and soulful. What a thing to read as I drag my boys (17 and 12) across the planet to make a new home. At least we’re together. But the birds and beaches are different.

    • Ah it’s very different Alice, they are with you and that’s all that matters 🙂

      Sending an 11 year old to sleep in a room of 11 yr olds with not an adult in cooee that cares about them…all in the name of ‘a better education’…not a psychological recipe for success I’d have thought.

      • Yikes. I can’t imagine much worse. I couldn’t even send my kids away to regular day school to be kept in the monoculture of children all day every day.

        • In Australia home schooling isn’t common. I haven’t heard of it really other than those who live waaay out in the country so mine went to regular day schools. Would have been nicer having them with me though 🙂

          • I LOVE homeschooling. It has grown a lot in the U.S.. It’s also legal in many other countries (like France), illegal in some (Germany) and regulated differently everywhere you go (every state in the U.S. has different laws).

            I’m glad the timing was right for my family to educate at home.

            Alice

          • Will you continue with an American syllabus while in France – I guess there’s red tape in all that?!

          • Thanks for reading and commenting.

            Things are not so different here with regard to what kids need to learn, just fewer homeschoolers. I’ll continue to much as I have.

            Since they’ve always loved to study World history (and French history) so we’re up on that. They’ve grabbed the (kids) regional history books at the library since we’ve gotten our cards. These are in French, so this is good, too.

            Libraries are essential to home education. We go a couple times a week.

            And, yes. There’s some red tape here. But nothing out of line with what I’m used to. Letters of intent.

            There are homeschool support groups here, as in the U.S., to help. The internet makes the groups easy to find and communicate with.

            Alice

          • So I know finishing high school is a way off and you may be back in the States by then? but if in France would they sit the baccalaureate? I think that’s the international benchmark anyway isn’t it?

          • We plan to stay here if we can (and nothing changes). Our current plan is our three year visa then renew for three more years. We can apply for French citizenship in five years. This is the long term plan for our family… if nothing changes. 🙂

            My older boy is done with high school.The younger? We’re three weeks into this. He’s not sure yet.

            Yes. They “sit the bac” here. It’s a big rite of passage that is thought to be a unifying experience for the French people. At least this is the way they play it on the news.

            But it’s not mandatory. People still have lives that don’t pass the bac. We will work things out as we always have. It will very likely continue to be “the path less traveled” for all of us.

            Thanks for your interest.

            Alice

          • I love your attitude and wish more of society ran with it too.

            Over here we have the HSC at the end of high school and the mark determines what course and university you might get in to…I told all 3 of my kids when the time came that you are NOT defined by a number someone gives you when you’re 17/18…don’t stress out about it!

          • Ah. But society doesn’t run our way. And this is fine by me. If everyone went my way, the road would be crowded. 😉

            The concept that anyone would think to catalog and judge each human with a single number sends chills through my marrow. Shall we tattoo it on the arm or inject a microchip under the skin and make it inescapable?

            I suspect neither of my kids will go to university. My 17 year old is a jazz pianist who draws comics and makes computer animations.He has a recent inclination toward building with stone. My 12 year old announced a few weeks ago that he wants to become a pastry chef. But a friend here (who was once a pastry chef and now works with stone) discouraged him away from pastry as too isolating.

            They will each be what they will be.

            Higher education (in the U.S.) is very expensive. It welds debt shackles on but doesn’t bring work that pays enough to ever get out of debt.

            It’s always great to hear from you. It’s nice to hear what the rest of the world is up to. 🙂

            Pastries? Rocks? Who knows? As long as we’re together, we can all make it.

Leave a Reply

