I count syllables

 

I’d love to think I am a writer. I like what I write so that gives me an audience of one ha ha! I do get good responses to my haiku though – I love haiku, you can express so much in so few words. 

In real life I am quiet. A woman of few words. A deep thinker. So, when I read this daily prompt, for which I am too late! (Scribble down the first ten words that come to mind. Pick three of them. There’s your post title. Now write!), and was jotting down some words, I found myself counting in syllables. Here are the ten words the title comes from… I count syllables instead of words haiku brain kicks in.

And here is my world just now…

big cat purrs loudly
breathing pushing against thigh
my bed, in the night

silent city street
router green glow in blackness
there is nothing else

heart email to son
my love stretches to the moon
and to malaysia

if I don’t sleep now
my transparent grumpy face
gives the game away

struggle through the day
unfocused at work, and then
sleep in Dharma class!

goodnight 🙂

 

 

11 thoughts on “I count syllables

  1. Oh I love this post…and I too count syllables! Do you mind if I reblog this?

  2. Reblogged this on Bastet and Sekhmet and commented:
    Ah! Having seen the title of this beautiful post, I opened the reader and delight of delight…a post written in Haiku. Have a look! 🙂

  3. Glad to have found you, because you found me. Looking forward too reading you regularly!

  4. Neat post! When your efforts are centered within a certain framework, like rhyme, meter and such, for long enough, the brain tends to automatically apply what it is familiar with to the work in progress. I find it also tends to enforce this predilection when not requested! I guess I’m saying it likes to find a niche and get comfortable!

  5. Stretching to the moon and Malaysia. 🙂

  6. Beautifully written Annie 🙂

Leave a Reply

