prompt me why don’t you

 

The last few weeks have been long on work and very short on blogging. I signed up for NanoWrimo again this year and again am nowhere near the hoped for word count, or polished work. Wishing I’d done NaBloPoMo instead but I confess I only learnt of it late in the day.

Rarasaur has so many great prompts for us – I’ve got some drafts in the works, thanks Rara..

Tonight I’ve used a BlogHer prompt from last Tuesday – yep it’s Sunday.

 

Tuesday, November 12, 2013
Name five things inside your refrigerator right now and how you feel about them.

 

  • Carrots.

There are a lot of carrots in our fridge. I don’t like carrots. One of the offspring loves those orange things and belongs to a co-op that buys fresh produce direct from the growers. 4.30am every second Saturday one of their ranks goes out to woop woop to buy in bulk. If you want carrots you’re going to end up with a lot of them. We always have a lot of carrots in our fridge.

  •   Mango yoghurt.

I’m never hungry in the morning but it’s drummed into us that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Yoghurt slides down easily.

  •  Mother’s thyroid pills.

An ugly reminder of old age, illness, and the role I am not equipped for yet hangs over me. A box which is way bigger than it’s dimensions. Open the fridge door and her life and, surely not long now death, hits you in the face.

  •  Apple and ginger juice.

Just discovered this brand recently and it’s absolutely delicious and, over crushed ice, so refreshing. Yeah I could squeeze it myself but I could also drink a bucket of this before I’d get there…

  •  Salami, olives, and boursin cheese.

Probably not good for me but yum – enough said 🙂

 

 

7 thoughts on “prompt me why don’t you

  1. Your fridge contents seem so colorful! 🙂 I used to love carrots, but they’re too sugary for me now, so now I make the most of other veggies– still, they’re pretty colored food to have around, right? 🙂

  2. Carrots may be one of the vegetables with the highest sugar content, but they are not that high, rarasaur. I have Diabetes (runs in the family) and it’s always the GI content of food that is impressed upon me. I have good sugar control and don’t need meds.

    I love carrots, but in the last couple of years I’ve often had to throw them out (organic as well as supermarket kind) as they taste of metal or a petrochemical sort of taste. Sometimes I get a good batch and they taste wonderful. Someone suggested to me that I may have developed an allergy, but I can eat coriander which is the same family, so the word allergy doesn’t make sense to me.

    Annie, did you used to like them years ago or when you were young? (perhaps you’re like me and can taste something chemical on them now)?

  3. One of the main perks to NaNoWriMo is that you are not expected to polish it… in fact, it’s best that you just write. Just get the 50,000 words down and edit later. Try that, and let go of the blog for a month. 😉

Leave a Reply

