she’s just going through a phase

 

Click on this banner to find out why I wrote this post…

Zero to Hero Blogger

 

 

May you live in interesting times. A chinese curse? Wikipedia tells me no source has been found.

Oh I can give you the source! My ex is chinese – pretty sure he whispered that curse on the wind of his departure all those many years ago…

Thanks, yes life is interesting. The relentless change raincloud hovers over my house, pounding the roof whenever I feel a little too comfortable. Β Sometimes, when that pressure isn’t enough, it finds holes in the tiles and causes damage inside.

When I started blogging I was caring for an aged mother, estranged from my son, and my best friend was dying. She died – regular readers know that.

Mother barely moves from one room, but lives on and on. Son appears when it suits him and I’ll take any grain of sand towards reconciliation. Bestie and I took a long, slow walk with cancer which ended abruptly, and I miss her…but I can smile at the memories now, and hear her voice in my head when I need advice. Β And youngest’s illness has been added to the mix since the beginning of blogging. So many challenges for this one little mind!

In many ways my blog is like a personal journal and so why do I not write longhand, in a sweet covered notebook, with a pen that fits my hand. Keep it next to my bed and reach for it before sleep.

I wanted the connection with others. Wanted others to read my words and validate my writing. I want to be a writer.Β 

I got so much more than I bargained for! Regular contact with new laptop friends worldwide. So many fabulous words to read of wonderful writers I’d otherwise not have found. And of course the sharing of challenges, our stories. My interesting life is no more interesting than yours πŸ˜‰

I want to be a writer. And yet I keep it anonymous. I don’t link to facebook, I don’t tweet (I don’t tweet!), I don’t give you my name. I don’t know how to grow readership, or have work freshly pressed. (Do I even want that? Yes definitely! And no, maybe not.)

Thanks for reading this little journal blog, and letting me think I can write πŸ™‚

 

is this middle age

sandwich generation phase

nest emptying fast

Β 

What are your challenges? What phase are you going through?

 

43 thoughts on “she’s just going through a phase

  1. I wish life would stop changing, just for awhile.
    Sometimes I just want to curl up in some nice warm blankets and sleep for a long, long time…so that maybe…I would have more energy to keep going!

  2. Yes you can write! Oh my goodness you can write. I love your writing. I also love your honesty, and your courage, and your strength, and your sharing. And don’t forget that thing about God/Life/The Mystery/Whatever-you-want-to-call-it never gives us more than we can deal with. It’s a lot, I know, but through it all, you shine – your truth, your pain, your heart, your humanity in all its glory. Heart hugs from me πŸ™‚
    PS I don’t tweet either! What’s it for anyway?
    PPS How does one get Freshly Pressed? That’s what I wanna know.

    • You are way to kind to me Ali πŸ™‚ and I thank you so much for your kind words and heart hugs – they help, they really do…to ground me and to realise that I CAN deal with it (but message to whoever throws ‘stuff’ – enough now!)

      I don’t understand the tweet thing. And fp? I don’t know…but I’m astonished ‘they’ haven’t discovered your words!

  3. I’m happy we found each other!! You are a wonderful writer!! Happy New Year!!

  4. I love what you do, and love our link sharing a favourite city too … and a similar philosophy, so if you wrote longhand in your journal I would miss all that! Thanks for being just how you are πŸ™‚

  5. Annie you are on the path of a writer and a good one at that. I am there with you holding my dreams out for the world to see, we can encourage each other. I love your words.

  6. Vicki (from Victoria A Photography)

    Names are unimportant in life.
    What matters is that connection or interdependence with others.
    What matters is from the Heart & Soul.

  7. I love the words of Goldie Hawn,,,,,β€œThe lotus is the most beautiful flower, whose petals open one by one. But it will only grow in the mud. In order to grow and gain wisdom, first you must have the mud — the obstacles of life and its suffering. … The mud speaks of the common ground that humans share, no matter what our stations in life. … Whether we have it all or we have nothing, we are all faced with the same obstacles: sadness, loss, illness, dying and death. If we are to strive as human beings to gain more wisdom, more kindness and more compassion, we must have the intention to grow as a lotus and open each petal one by one. ” We are all flowering in our own way! Julia

  8. Social media hype is highly overrated. Your blog is lovely.

  9. Katie of Black Hills Reiki

    I’ll add my two cents over here as well, not just in response to my blog! I love your writing as well and am so glad you aren’t only writing in your journal. Keep writing and sharing – our connections help us all with our growth through this life!!

  10. Seems like life has thrown you a few challenges. I’m so sorry for the loss of your best friend. Hugs. My life is richer knowing you here on the blogosphere.

  11. And you are a writer, too, my friend.

  12. You can certainly write! I’ve only read this post and I’m hooked, I love your style πŸ™‚ Let’s zero to hero together! (I know what you mean about freshly pressed…)

    • That’s so kind thank you ! YES zero to hero together – I like it πŸ™‚

      And I love the idea on your blog – both that just one thing can make a huge difference to someone when you least expect it! and of noticing the starry moments in your day πŸ™‚

  13. Thank you for the like on my first Zero to Hero post! One of the best things about blogging is making connections (and always learning). It’s great to meet another Haiku enthusiast!

  14. I was also surprised at the relationships that blossom here. My mother-in-law thinks that people you don’t see in person can’t possibly be friends. We know better, though, don’t we? I’m pretty new to your blog, but I’m already seeing a kindred spirit. Thank you for finding me.

  15. You are a writer and a photographer and so many other things. Your blog cheers me. I’m sorry you are still in the eye of the storm. Time does heal. I feel finally healed after many years in the storm, although I know this is just a lull before life kicks up again.

    xoxox

  16. From my point of view, I enjoy reading your work, I feel a strange connection to you because you are ‘local’ and know some of the places I know and I’m thrilled when you comment on my posts. Thank you πŸ™‚

  17. You are by far one of the kindest, most caring people I have met on WordPress. I consider you to be a friend. Your blog is many things – but always lovely and a surprise. And I hope to see the gnome in 2014. πŸ˜‰

    • ha ha ok the gnome will be back! better than that though (in my opinion) is a sculpture near here. I haven’t captured a great photo of it yet but might share some of my daughter’s…

      And thank you for those lovely lovely words Maddie xx

  18. Annie, I am always most moved by your personal posts; the ones where you are a bit more vulnerable, and share your experience. This one is gorgeous. It is honest, gritty, and vulnerable. Putting ourselves out there, as bloggers, as aspiring writers, is so damned risky. I wonder and question almost every time I hit publish. Not always, but almost always! Will I look like a fool? Will anyone get it? Do I sound clueless/weak/foolish/ insert other self-depricating thoughts. You are a wonderful writer; a compassionate, caring and supportive blogging friend, and good mother and daughter. Life is certainly not fair. You and I know that. Others know that… together, we are all exploring that reality. Keep up the wonderful work! Write!! (PS- as I’ve noted several places recently, WordPress stopped sending me blog notifications! As I’m still a bit foggy anyway, I kept thinking everyone was taking the holidays off… until I realized how unlikely that was, and saw that I’d missed dozens and dozens of posts! arrgh.. sorry to miss anything. 😦 )

    • Wow thank you so much Dawn, I think You are a wonderful writer so I’m loving your comment πŸ™‚

      And yes, some weird things lately in the blogweb…I’m sure I’ve missed things too x

Leave a Reply

