just a quick free write

Ten minute free write, unfiltered self, publish as is.

My back hurts. There’s a light show over paradise out the back window tonight. No rain, no noise, just flashes. My back hurts – from the driving? from the strange bed? or from the increase in walking? I can’t answer that but I do know that paradise has it’s niggles. It’s real life after all. And I’m cheating as I write – half an eye, one ear on Daniel Day Lewis emoting on the screen in front of me. (Is that the gaol I toured in Belfast, or the one I didn’t in Dublin?)

I have to leave way earlier to get to work from here, and this morning, at the crack of dawn, there were two ambulances and three police cars outside the celebrity guest house down the road. So….not paradise then? Not for someone. If one person died does it need that many attendants? Probably will never know what happened.

I’ve got another couple of hundred steps to do before bed tonight but I’m tired and over it. Really must make an effort to get lots of walking in earlier in the day.

Tomorrow’s a crazy day though. Half day at work – all volunteers, staff and directors in together. We’re primed to come armed with a question, with suggestions…trouble is we’re such a quiet bunch. Most of those coming don’t want to speak in front of the directors and most won’t. Four years into the job I don’t have any ideas left…can’t think of a question. Just pay me and I’ll be on my way 😉

Once the working day is done the big kids will meet me here for the weekend. That’ll be nice though the silence and aloneness is also nice. Very nice. Funny – I don’t like it so much at home but then I’m still getting used that big fat house so empty now. I hope the cats aren’t going crazy with me away so much lately. It’s a brave new world for them too.

And now to sleep.

2 thoughts on “just a quick free write

  1. Thanks for sharing a window into your day, I hope your weekend is bright with sunshine and family frivolity.

Leave a Reply

