at the beach

What happens when you escape to the beach house?

This is going to sound silly but I was scared to come. I would have stayed at home, in the house, on the couch for three days and spoken to no one. She pushed me and so I’m here.

I’ve had some weird physical feelings the last few days, been stressed at work and about christmas (family – you know it), and it’s a long drive but…then I got here and found it was all anxiety.  And it didn’t come with me 🙂

What happens is that I notice things. It was a day of bright bright blue when I arrived and then later the dark and storm rolled in. Heavy clouds. Cooling wind. Birds flapping in all directions. It is all absolutely beautiful.

One of the maintenance guys was parked in the driveway when I arrived so I put my things inside and then went out for a while. I drove around looking at the streets I’d like to live in. I drove down to the beach and bought a coffee and cake. (Yep cake, indulge me!) Then I went a suburb further to discover other architectural gems, only in my future with a lotto win. Sip the coffee, bite the cake. Another beach for horizon photos. A fair amount of bodies in the sun given it’s a week day. A splattering of recent school leavers having a much tamer holiday than those further north.

Bought a lotto ticket.

I even bought some fish and chips for my lunch. It’s a beachie kind of thing to do! I sat at the table and used a fork though…

A very good day. Changed up the routine. Spoke to five people. Saw the resident long lizard, a tiny brush turkey, a couple of cockatoos and a cocktail party of other birds – babbling incoherently, and unrecognisable to me, they kept their distance.

Hey, I’m glad she pushed. I’m happy here.

17 thoughts on “at the beach

  1. Dear Annie, 🙂 enjoy x

    >

  2. Wonderful! Memories of my own last mini vacation to an oceanside cabin…the old world and stress fell away and something new and clean and fresh stood before me. I have to get back there again, SOON 🙂

  3. Annie, It is no wonder you have had anxiety but the beach does make everything better. I’m headed there on Friday with my girls and I think we all need some beach time. Happy you are getting some….so it’s summer there? xoxoxox

  4. Wonderful to find a place to connect to and recharge. Sounds great!
    Karen

  5. People like us, beach girls, NEED the sea and sand… like others need oxygen. xo

  6. Annie its nice when some one else knows what we need. Soak it up my friend.

  7. Absolutely love this

Leave a Reply

