beach run

Three of us sitting around the large, glass covered wooden coffee table silently busy with our devices. Faces lit up digitally. Two siblings and an offspring. Mother, daughter, aunt. Self, child, sister. Unconnected.

Facebook, Instagram, online games… I look up, at the two other faces, and wonder at just how special the fact we exist is. And that we’re here in this room together tonight.

Earlier today I spent an hour on a rectangular shaped plastic covered air block, floating on water and pondering the plants and animals around me. Little grey birds flew so low over me to the grevillea at the left of the pool (left if you’re looking out to sea). I marvelled that we have these plants in our garden that can feed these wonderful creatures. I wondered if they think I’m an intruder in their home and therefore the ‘swoop’… I smiled as I watched them basically dangle upside down while eating, while watching me.  I floated closer. They bravely stuck it out. Or was that defiance in their pretty eyes. Grey body, kohl around the yellow eyes. Yellow beak a splash of colour.

The green leaves of some Australian native bushes are closer to grey – these little birds cleverly camouflaged. I blinked and they’d been replaced by one of their flamboyant cousins – beautiful rainbow lorikeet.

Shortest beach holiday in history. Must I leave tomorrow? Must I show myself in the office Friday?

From my bed in the sleepout I hear only the waves breaking – at home I often drift off to a meditation app on my phone, tonight I have one of my favourite sounds live, and up close. Even one day here is enough to lower my shoulders and widen my smile 🙂

smile, breathe and go slowly – thich nhat hanh

24 thoughts on “beach run

  1. A picture of two very diverse levels of existence…humans in the digital world and nature, as it should be with you hanging both between and within each realm.
    I often believe that vacations suck, no matter how grand or relaxing or whatever purpose they fulfill, because they are temporary. The hard question- how to make everyday life a ‘vacation’ that we never want to leave…

    • I read something about that just yesterday – rather than always looking forward to the next vacation work on making life so good you don’t need them…

      I think if I lived with this view that’d be easy 😉

  2. Wiggle your toes and feel the earth before you take your next step. 🙂

  3. What a lovely meditative post!

  4. The ocean is the best sound to sleep to. I’m glad you got a break, even a short one. xo

  5. Difficult transition I wish I was in… Enjoying your messages 🙂

  6. So lovely – you describe it so well! ❤
    Diana xo

  7. As the snow swirls outside my window, it’s good to imagine you floating in the water, kissed by the sun. Thanks for sharing, Annie! xoxoM

  8. Happy new year and best wishes to you and yours for health, happiness, peace & prosperity in 2015!

  9. Annie small but memorable moments. Move slowly through each one.

Leave a Reply

