who you gonna call?

A little day procedure coming up. You can’t leave on your own. Who do you ask to pick you up?

I like to keep these things very private but even so – I’m single, I find myself good enough friend-less, I don’t wish to share this with siblings, and the only offspring that is close geographically, is a) busy and b) I really don’t wish to share this anyway.

So where does that leave me?

I’ll just get a taxi. I guess once it’s said and done the desk staff can’t stop me?!

What about getting there though? I hope I have the strength to get there by taxi…

Have you been in this position?

15 thoughts on “who you gonna call?

  1. That is a dilemma you have, and no – at this point I haven’t encountered a situation such as yours. The taxi idea is certainly better than a public bus I would say. Is it worth a question or two to the location staff themselves prior to the procedure to see if they have any good suggestions? I’m sorry you have to deal with this. If I lived close by I would drive you gladly, never ask a question and even charge you a fare if it made you feel more comfortable about the whole thing 😉

    • Ha ha I love that you would charge me a fare 😉

      No, I won’t ring and ask them – the person who answers the phone was not at all pleasant both times I have rung. They will only say you have to have someone collect you. grrr needs more thought.

  2. Strange coincidence. An old friend of mine (who is not old of course but you know what I mean) is going by herself to Perth for eye appointments because her good eye is now diseased – long story. Anyway I have decided that I will go up to Perth and pick her up from airport and take her to her appointments because I can do this before my shift at nursing home on Thurs. She is so grateful but is adamant that she would/could have done this on her own. This is possibly the first time I have gone out of my way to help someone – it is gonna be great to get together with her. Sorry, off on a tangent – just saying I empathise. x

  3. It’s a good measure of who you can reach out to for help. Some will not hesitate and others seem to always be busy. I’m guilty of that. I will drop everything for those who I have a deep and complex relationship with and others…”I’m too busy”…I’m just glad most of my family is in another state.

  4. Annie I wish I lived near by I would drive you to your appointment. I hope it all goes well.

  5. I hope you are okay! I would have driven you, which might have been more dangerous as I think we may drive on opposite sides of the road?!

  6. I don’t know if they have such things there, Annie; in NYC I would arrange for car service to pick me up. Different from taxi (which is hailed on the street and I would take one to the procedure) because it’s a bespoke service. I would ask for the driver to come up to the office to pick me up, thereby complying with the “someone to pick me up” rule. Alternatively, I would still arrange for a pick-up and ask a staff member from the medical office to walk me down to the waiting car.

    Holding Love and Light for you, my dear friend! ;D xoxoM

  7. Yes, I was. As a single mother of 3 and needing outpatient surgery. I had one male friend take me and a different one pick me up. Neither of them wanted to know details (yay!) and no telling what the nurses thought. They were just friends – not dating – and it was comforting for me to have a friend there. They were good buddies and stepped up.

Leave a Reply

