white tara, yellow khata

 

scheduling ahead, going out of town, posting every day in November – click on the banner!

nanopoblano2

 

Prompt 41 from Promptosaurus 

Choose any color. Now look around and notice every single thing that is that color. Write a list of those items OR a mini-story about any one of those items.

 

I chose yellow before I looked up. I specifically picked a colour different to my favourite colour – blue. And then, when I look around I see soooo much blue – do I wear blue every day?!

Yellow – crazy but there is only one yellow thing in my sight, in my bedroom! And it’s a khata. I traditionally think of khatas as being white and I remember when I received this one, I wanted white…however I’ve since learnt they come in many colours. A yellow khata represents happiness. That’s not a bad thing, right?! This khata is from my White Tara initiation. White Tara is known for compassion, long life, healing and serenity; and is also known as The Wish-fulfilling Wheel. All good there too, right?! So I’m no longer disappointed I didn’t get a white khata on the day.

Those of us who arrived without a khata on the day were kindly given them by the centre. At the end of the day we offered khata to the Geshe who led the teachings, and khatas offered are usually returned with a blessing.

Several years ago I met His Holiness the Dalai Lama. A photo of the two of us is above my altar, and this yellow khata hangs over the frame. So, if I only have one splash of yellow in my whole bedroom, isn’t that the most amazing place for it? 🙂

 

 

2 thoughts on “white tara, yellow khata

  1. Ooooh..you met the Dalai Lama! How awesome is that! And I love blues too…but my closet it more black than anything else..lol.

Leave a Reply

