I wish we were having coffee…

 

unnamed(this coffee from an earlier, healthy time)

If we were having coffee, and I wish we were, I would tell you that I’m still getting over pneumonia. Maybe you know what that’s like?

Being ill reminded me of how well I’ve been for a long time! Even though I feel achey and old I have been really well compared to this.

I would tell you what wonderful nurses both of the cats have been, little hot water bottles on my feet as I blend in to the couch. They’re missing the big kids too and are unsure of this new world order.

If we were having coffee today I would share with you how much I have to get done before she who rules the world arrives and casts disdainful eyes over the abode, wipes fingers along surfaces and tuts. I don’t have the strength to get started. Mother would have said it’s psychological – I often get sick before the great sibling’s arrival.

I have a light week and I hope I can get back to normal activities.

What would you tell me? What’s going on with you, what are your stories?

(inspired by Write On)
17 thoughts on “I wish we were having coffee…

  1. I think you should enjoy your needed rest with the cats and not give a rusty hoot about the great sibling’s approval. If we were having coffee I’d tell you that I’ve been nesting for the past two weeks in our first home in five years and eight months. And that I’m fasting in an effort to get healthy again. My legs ache. They wanted me to stop all that traipsing about. Here’s to better health for us both.
    Alison xo

    • Wow I had no idea you were nesting Alison, if there’s a post I’ve missed it being my usual hit and miss blog self!

      Glad that your legs at least are enjoying staying put – where are you? I have a real estate fettish (unrealistic given my bank account) and love the thought of a ‘new’ house…hope you’re loving where you are xx

  2. It’s hard to see that it won’t go on forever, but it never does. You will eventually get over it. As for the sibling? Well, I am the child of a mother with OCD for cleaning and a mother-in-law who majored in home economics and managed a very tight ship with 6 kids. I can’t live up to that and don’t try. I am much more than a maid. If my house doesn’t meet their standards, I’m sorry that they think that is more important than being happy and productive in other ways. Neither of them worked full time. I just gave up trying to please them. The white glove is not my problem; it’s theirs. Good luck, though. It is always tense for me.They disapprove of my lack of desire to please them.

  3. Oh Annie, I hope you are back in top form soon. Stay snuggled with the cats and leave the other stuff as is. Disapproving eyes and meandering fingers should be the least of your concern, getting well is the priority so please think of yourself.
    On my end, we list our house for sale in just a few days, and quite happily my divorce will be final in about 1 1/2 months.

  4. If we were having coffee, Annie, I’d tell you that we took turns having a horrific cold in our household and are only just recovering from it. I’d share with you how grateful I am to have my mother call when she feels vulnerable and in need of support. I’d remind you what an amazing and loving woman you are and that you don’t have to live up to anyone’s expectations but your own. Take care, dear friend. That’s most important! 😉 xoxoM

  5. I hope you’re feeling better, Annie xxx I had a relative very much like your sibling and I would also get sick (and bite all my nails off) before she arrived. This all changed during one of her visits when i cleaned the house to within an inch of it’s life and on the second day of her visit she took the centre agitator out of my washing machine and pointed out the grime below it. That was it – I thought no matter what I do, she’s going to find dirt somewhere. I never went out of my way to clean again before her visits and if she didn’t like the mess I’d tell her to put an apron and gloves on and do it herself 😀
    If we were having coffee I’d tell you the builders are making me a beautiful set of stairs for the front of the RUC and hopefully they will be up by the end of June (depending on the weather) xxxx

    • Thanks for sharing that story Dianne, not fun to go through but gave me a smile 😉
      And wonderful news about the builders and your new stairs. My daughter has been doing renovations and it’s so much fun seeing it all unfold (especially when I’m not financially involved ha ha). xx

  6. If we were having coffee I would tell you about all the renovations we are doing to our home. I would wax on about how it’s been a long time coming and how happy we are to finally be putting our desires into action. I would show you pictures of my new perfect orange office, and our checkerboard wall card studio where we create our greeting cards. I might say I recently battled and won against a little bug that’s been going around. Tough to avoid germs at the restaurant where I work. I’d say that I think the reason I kicked it so fast is because the last time I got an upper respiratory infection it hit me hard, really hard, for the first time in years, and I am certain it has built up my immunity. I might tell you we sold some greeting cards lately, and filled some custom orders, and how wonderful it makes me feel to know that our art makes people smile. I would ask how you are, and be genuinely interested to know and hear about your happenings. Coffee..is a wonderful thing that facilitates conversation and sharing. We should have coffee more often I’d say. 🙂

    • Ooh I would love to see your renovations, your office, your creative space etc. Are you going to write a post about all this? I’m glad to hear that this second bug was easier to shake off and I think that’s exactly why this one has hit me so hard – I’ve been well for ages without even realising it! Those regular aches etc are me being well 🙂 I think I have turned the corner but I’m reserving judgement as, I felt so well earlier this week and then really flat again…
      We should have more coffee 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

