give hope to refugees – world refugee day 2017

 

I was waiting for a take away cappuccino. The cafe is on the water, the view is ridiculous. I had a little lemon polenta cake in an environmentally friendly cardboard box in one hand and my iPhone in the other.

I could tell the man next to me wanted to talk. ‘A homeless person could run in here, grab two of those meals (off the pass) and have a bloody good feed’. We’re a long way from any homeless people here…

‘I was in the city the other day, there’s so many homeless and we should be helping our own, stop this refugee nonsense with all the terrorism going on’ (um…we’ve been fairly insulated from terrorist acts so far, down under. and yes it’s the day after world refugee day – way to give hope to refugees!)

me: ‘How do you tell genuine refugees from terrorists? They need our help just as much as our own homeless.’

‘No, we just need to stop letting anyone in.’

me: (nice!) ‘Well…have you seen the images of what they’re escaping in Syria for example? We’re so lucky here, we have to help!’

coffee ready, conversation over, photograph view on way out…

still swirling in my head – you saw so many homeless, we should help our own first, and so what are you doing to help? did you speak to any, did you give them a bottle of water, a piece of fruit, did you ask if they have family somewhere, or a place in a shelter to sleep in that night?

a group of women meet at my house regularly and for 3 years now we’ve been knitting scarves and beanies which we pass on to local homelessness support organisations, and shelters…when I’m tucked up in bed on these cold winter nights I hope we’ve helped just a little xx

13 thoughts on “give hope to refugees – world refugee day 2017

  1. You have helped, Annie. We each offer and do what we’re able to offer and do. No one of us can or should do all. Each of us doing our bit is enough. 😉 xoxoM

    • I guess I shouldn’t judge that guy either – at least he opened up a discussion and is thinking about it. I just wished I’d asked those questions before we parted…perhaps seeing so many homeless in the city will prompt him to do something but I guess thinking about it is a start. Will it lead to compassion for refugees as well? Emotional topic…

      • Yes, it’s an emotional topic in this part of the Globe as well. I feel that contemplating the issue brings it into visibility and helps us to take whatever steps we are able to take to bring Love and Light to bear. 😉 xoxoM

  2. I have thought the same thing though..but not so much about stopping refugees from coming into a country because yes, they are leaving horrific conditions and need help, but more of, isn’t there a way for governments and orgainisation to help all? Meaning..sometimes when I read about the homelessness and the poor in countries that have taken in refugees…there must be something wrong when so many people of a country are left homeless, without jobs..without food..you know? I don’t really know much about this at all, so may be wrong..but…there must be a better way…to take care of your own and still open your arms to those who seek asylum.

    • I don’t know the answer…but lately I’ve come across more and more wonderful small organisations helping where they can, started by individuals like you and me. They inspire and uplift me x

  3. Every little bit helps. Always. Every scarf made and handed out is one person less cold knowing a stranger thought of them. What a great thing to do and helpful as a way of not feeling hopeless.

    Peta

  4. I love now knowing that little group of women, as revolutionary as you can get, exists:). We need more.

  5. I remember a lady from Newfoundland who every year sent a box of mittens and scarves she and a group of ladies knit. Her son had once used the shelter where I used to work — she wanted to give back. Those hand-knitted goods were so welcome and warming. Thanks to you and your friends, others are feeling that same warmth in your area. How lovely!

    • Thanks Louise 🙂 I’ve recently connected with two other charities/nfp’s and am really happy to be a go-between delivering services from one to the other etc…I still wish I’d find paid work though ha ha!

  6. It’s mind boggling how some people seem to think that compassion has to be limited to only specific groups of people at a time. Thanks for sharing, hope to see you around again soon

Leave a Reply

